Vijaygarh jyotish ray college

Affiliated Under University of Calcutta. Registered under 2f & 12B of UGC Act Under Graduate with Post Graduate Courses, Re-Accredited by NAAC (3rd Cycle) (Grade - A); Funded by RUSA; DBT-BOOST, Ranked in NIRF, AISHE

(ISO 9001:2015 Certified )

From the desk of HoD

From HOD’s Desk


On behalf of the Department of Physics, Vijygarh Jyotish Ray College, I welcome you all.

The world in which we live today, might very well be called a world of technology and the subject of Physics forms the backbone of it. Consequently, the job opportunities and future prospect of the students of Physics are huge and diverse. This, however, is only one of the many aspects of the subject. Physics trains our mind. It teaches us reasoning, to logically connect the observations and the facts and thereby to develop a scientific attitude towards life.

The teachers of our department are dedicated to uphold both these aspects of the subject – practical and philosophical, to the students. We deliver lectures to them, assist them in hand-on experiments, check their progress, talk to them, trying to identify their individual problems, not only academic, but also personal. We mentor them in all possible ways. This develops a long-lasting bond between teachers and our students which continues even after they leave the Department. We thus are very well connected to our alumni. We are very proud to mention that many of our alumni are now well established in various fields. Many of our alumni are now pursuing higher education in different reputed higher education institutions of India and abroad. 

On behalf of the Department, I sincerely thank our Principal for her encouragement and whole-hearted support in all our efforts. I invite the students to join the great adventure of Physics and enjoy the journey together with us.

Thanking all,

Debashis Chatterjee

                                                                                       H.O.D., Department of Physics




Sri Debashis Chatterjee
Surajit Sarkar
Sri Sujit Nandy
Sri Sudipranjan Bagchi Dewan